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SELLING YOUR PRECIOUS METALS and JEWELRY

What consumers need to know
hefore a sale

It’s important to know what to look for when considering to whom you should sell your items:
e Know with whom you are dealing. The buyer must include his/her name and
address in all ads and at the point of purchase.
e Weighing must be done in plain sight. The buyer is required to weigh the items
being sold in plain view of the seller. If the fineness (quality) of the precious
metal is tested, the test must be performed in plain view of the seller.
e Check the scale. Sellers should look to see that the scale being used by the buyer:
— has a blue-white Weights & Measures paper sticker seal on it;
— has a date on the paper sticker seal;
— has been tested within the past 12 months; and
— has a seal that has not been broken, since a broken seal could mean that a
scale has been tampered with.
e Prices must be prominently posted.

o Get a COMPLETE sales receipt. If you sell your item, be sure the buyer provides
you with a COMPLETE sales receipt with detailed information in case a dispute
arises after the sale. This information must include:

— the name and address of the buyer;

— the date of the transaction;

— the names of the precious metals purchased,

— the fineness of the precious metals purchased;

— the weights of the precious metals purchased,

— the prices paid for the precious metals at the standard measures of weight; and
— the name, address and signature of the seller of the precious metals.

What consumers need to know
after a sale

e The buyer must keep the item purchased for at least two business days.

e The buyer must keep a serialized sales receipt of each transaction for at least one
year.



Terms and Definitions
consumers need to know

Precious Metals means gold, silver, platinum, palladium and alloys thereof.

Karat is the classification used to determine the purity of gold. Twenty-four karat gold (24K), for
example, has the greatest purity, while 10 karat gold (10K) has the least.

A Transient Buyer, as provided by New Jersey law (N.J.S.A.51:6 A-5), is defined as a buyer of
precious metals who has not been in any retail business continuously for at least six (6) months
at the address in the municipality where he/she is required to register or who intends to closeout
or discontinue all retail business in the municipality

within six (6) months. Transient buyers are mobile and move to different locations weekly or
monthly. Transient buyers are required to have a $5,000 bond posted with

the New Jersey Office of Weights and Measures. You can check with that office to see if a bond
has been posted.

A Pennyweight is a means of weighing precious metals. It comes from the British weight
system. Pennyweights are measure in troy ounces. There are 20 pennyweights in a troy ounce,
or 31.1 grams. A pennyweight (abbreviated dwt or pwt) is a unit of mass that is 1/20 of a troy
ounce or 1.555 grams.

e Don’t believe quotes over the phone.
Those quotes will most likely change when you get to the store.

e Do not let your items out of your sight.
They may be replaced by lower purity metals when the buyer removes the items
to another area.

e Be careful with “mail-in your gold” services.
You have little or no control over these types of sales.

e Be careful with “Gold Party” scams.
Remember, the host is getting a commission on the gold you buy or sell. Scales
may be rigged.

Don't he a victim of Fraud
Follow these helpful Hints

e Beware of "one day,” temporary and hotel/mall

jewelry buying and/or selling events.

e Beware of gold sold in the back rooms of shops such as laundromats and food

stores.

Shop around to get the best price.

Weigh your own gold before selling it.

Compare pricing. Get prices regularly on different Internet sites.

Separate your gold by karat before selling it. Try and get three offer-estimates before

you sell.

Make sure you can see the scale and that the indicator is on “0.”

e Beware of rigged scales. Look for the blue and white paper sticker seal from the
Office of Weights and Measures. A red sticker means it has failed inspection.



